A World Inside a Book – Gruffalos, Dragons and Other Creatures

February 2019 - February 2020 various times

Age range
0-8 years old and Family

Price
£3 - £7.35

Run Time
45 minutes

Exhibition created by Discover

‘Once upon a time there was a boy called Charlie Cook
Who curled up in a cosy chair and read his favourite book.’

Enter the cosy sitting room of Charlie Cook’s Favourite Book and settle down for a story. But look more closely – what’s that you can see on the bookshelf?

Creep into a magical world of forests, miniature houses, dragons and other creatures. Can you spot The Gruffalo? Can you Squash and Squeeze around a life-sized cow? What’s that flying overhead, could it be Zog? Be The Smartest Giant in Town, climb through The Highway Rat’s cave, rock hop through the Monkey Puzzle jungle, discover the underwater worlds of Tiddler and The Snail and the Whale and take your seat for the ride of your life with Room on the Broom.

Take a trip into the brilliant 3-D technicolour world of the best loved children’s author, Julia Donaldson and illustrator Axel Scheffler, with the UK’s first immersive exhibition of their wonderful work.

Included in your ticket to A World Inside A Book: Gruffalos, Dragons and Other Creatures is the chance to get creative with our arts and crafts activities, where you can make your own Julia Donaldson inspired mini masterpiece!

Keep your eyes open for any special A World Inside a Book events as the Gruffalo only comes to Z-arts in person when there are special occasions. He’s not here in person every Saturday.

You can also book for birthday parties! Find out more here >>

Accessibility:
Relaxed and BSL interpreted showings are available. Find out more here >> 
You can download the social story of A World Inside a Book: Gruffalos, Dragons and Other Creatures here. 

If you want to attend any of the other performances then there is also a Visual Guide available at box office as well as Ear Defenders and an Accessibility guide with information about the exhibition, its dimensions etc  with accompanying pictures. Please contact Box office for more information.

Ticket info:
The Essential Companion ticket is for companions of people with disabilities who require extra assistance. If you’d like to add a Essential Companion ticket to your booking, please call our Box Office on 0161 232 6089 or email boxoffice@z-arts.org

Babes in arms tickets are for babies under the age of 1 who are not walking. All babies/children need to be accompanied by an adult, who will need to purchase a ticket. Please note that buggies are not permittted however we have buggy parking.

Travel info:
There are lots of ways to get to Z-arts, including via Stagecoach buses! Find out how on our Getting Here page.

Book tickets now - choose a time below

Show accessible performances only
Fri 29 Mar 10.00am Sold out
Fri 29 Mar 11.15am Sold out
Fri 29 Mar 1.00pm Book now
Fri 29 Mar 2.15pm Sold out
Sat 30 Mar 10.00am Sold out
Sat 30 Mar 11.15am Sold out
Sat 30 Mar 1.00pm Sold out
Sat 30 Mar 2.15pm Sold out
Fri 5 Apr 10.00am Sold out
Fri 5 Apr 11.15am Sold out
Fri 5 Apr 1.00pm Sold out
Fri 5 Apr 2.15pm Sold out
Sat 6 Apr 10.00am Sold out
Sat 6 Apr 11.15am Sold out
Sat 6 Apr 1.00pm Sold out
Sat 6 Apr 2.15pm Sold out
Mon 8 Apr 10.00am Book now
Mon 8 Apr 11.15am Sold out
Mon 8 Apr 1.00pm Sold out
Mon 8 Apr 2.15pm Sold out
Tue 9 Apr 10.00am Sold out
Tue 9 Apr 11.15am Sold out
Tue 9 Apr 1.00pm Sold out
Tue 9 Apr 2.15pm Sold out
Wed 10 Apr 10.00am Sold out
Wed 10 Apr 11.15am Sold out
Wed 10 Apr 1.00pm Sold out
Wed 10 Apr 2.15pm Sold out
Thu 11 Apr 10.00am Sold out
Thu 11 Apr 11.15am Sold out
Thu 11 Apr 1.00pm Sold out
Thu 11 Apr 2.15pm Sold out
Fri 12 Apr 10.00am Sold out
Fri 12 Apr 11.15am Sold out
Fri 12 Apr 1.00pm Sold out
Fri 12 Apr 2.15pm Sold out
Sat 13 Apr 10.00am Sold out
Sat 13 Apr 11.15am Sold out
Sat 13 Apr 1.00pm Sold out
Sat 13 Apr 2.15pm Sold out
Mon 15 Apr 10.00am Sold out
Mon 15 Apr 11.15am Sold out
Mon 15 Apr 1.00pm Sold out
Mon 15 Apr 2.15pm Sold out
Tue 16 Apr 10.00am Sold out
Tue 16 Apr 11.15am Sold out
Tue 16 Apr 1.00pm Sold out
Tue 16 Apr 2.15pm Sold out
Wed 17 Apr 10.00am Sold out
Wed 17 Apr 11.15am Sold out
Wed 17 Apr 1.00pm Sold out
Wed 17 Apr 2.15pm Sold out
Thu 18 Apr 10.00am Sold out
Thu 18 Apr 11.15am Sold out
Thu 18 Apr 1.00pm Sold out
Thu 18 Apr 2.15pm Sold out
Fri 26 Apr 10.00am Sold out
Fri 26 Apr 11.15am Sold out
Fri 26 Apr 1.00pm Sold out
Fri 26 Apr 2.15pm Book now
Sat 27 Apr 10.00am Sold out
Sat 27 Apr 11.15am Sold out
Fri 3 May 1.00pm Sold out
Fri 3 May 2.15pm Sold out
Fri 3 May 4.30pm Sold out
Fri 3 May 5.30pm Sold out
Sat 4 May 10.00am Sold out
Sat 4 May 11.15am Sold out
Sat 4 May 1.00pm Sold out
Sat 4 May 2.15pm Sold out
Fri 10 May 10.00am Sold out
Fri 10 May 11.15am Sold out
Sat 11 May 10.00am Sold out
Sat 11 May 11.15am Sold out
Sat 11 May 1.00pm Sold out
Sat 11 May 2.15pm Sold out
Sun 12 May 10.00am Sold out
Sun 12 May 11.15am Sold out
Fri 17 May 10.00am Book now
Fri 17 May 11.15am Book now
Fri 17 May 1.00pm Book now
Fri 17 May 2.15pm Book now
Sat 18 May 10.00am Sold out
Sat 18 May 11.15am Sold out
Sat 18 May 1.00pm Sold out
Sat 18 May 2.15pm Sold out
Fri 24 May 10.00am Sold out
Fri 24 May 11.15am Sold out
Fri 24 May 1.00pm Book now
Fri 24 May 2.15pm Book now
Sat 25 May 10.00am Sold out
Sat 25 May 11.15am Sold out
Sat 25 May 1.00pm Sold out
Sat 25 May 2.15pm Sold out
Tue 28 May 10.00am Sold out
Tue 28 May 11.15am Sold out
Tue 28 May 1.00pm Sold out
Tue 28 May 2.15pm Sold out
Wed 29 May 10.00am Sold out
Wed 29 May 11.15am Sold out
Wed 29 May 1.00pm Sold out
Wed 29 May 2.15pm Sold out
Thu 30 May 10.00am Sold out
Thu 30 May 11.15am Sold out
Thu 30 May 1.00pm Sold out
Thu 30 May 2.15pm Sold out
Fri 31 May 10.00am Sold out
Fri 31 May 11.15am Sold out
Fri 31 May 1.00pm Sold out
Fri 31 May 2.15pm Sold out
Sat 1 Jun 10.00am Sold out
Sat 1 Jun 11.15am Sold out
Sat 1 Jun 1.00pm Sold out
Sat 1 Jun 2.15pm Sold out
Fri 7 Jun 10.00am Sold out
Fri 7 Jun 11.15am Book now
Sat 8 Jun 10.00am Sold out
Sat 8 Jun 11.15am Sold out
Sat 8 Jun 1.00pm Sold out
Sat 8 Jun 2.15pm Sold out
Sat 15 Jun 10.00am Sold out
Sat 15 Jun 11.15am Sold out
Sat 15 Jun 1.00pm Sold out
Sat 15 Jun 2.15pm Sold out
Fri 21 Jun 10.00am Book now
Fri 21 Jun 11.15am Book now
Fri 21 Jun 1.00pm Book now
Fri 21 Jun 2.15pm Book now
Sat 22 Jun 10.00am Sold out
Sat 22 Jun 11.15am Sold out
Sat 22 Jun 1.00pm Sold out
Sat 22 Jun 2.15pm Sold out
Sun 23 Jun 10.00am Sold out
Sun 23 Jun 11.15am Sold out
Sun 23 Jun 2.15pm Sold out
Fri 28 Jun 10.00am Book now
Fri 28 Jun 11.15am Book now
Fri 28 Jun 1.00pm Book now
Fri 28 Jun 2.15pm Book now
Sat 29 Jun 10.00am Sold out
Sat 29 Jun 11.15am Sold out
Sat 29 Jun 1.00pm Sold out
Sat 29 Jun 2.15pm Sold out
Fri 5 Jul 10.00am Book now
Fri 5 Jul 11.15am Book now
Fri 5 Jul 1.00pm Book now
Fri 5 Jul 2.15pm Book now
Sat 6 Jul 10.00am Sold out
Sat 6 Jul 11.15am Sold out
Sat 6 Jul 1.00pm Sold out
Sat 6 Jul 2.15pm Sold out
Fri 12 Jul 10.00am Book now
Fri 12 Jul 11.15am Book now
Fri 12 Jul 1.00pm Book now
Fri 12 Jul 2.15pm Book now
Sat 13 Jul 10.00am Sold out
Sat 13 Jul 11.15am Sold out
Sat 13 Jul 1.00pm Sold out
Sat 13 Jul 2.15pm Sold out
Sun 14 Jul 10.00am Sold out
Sun 14 Jul 11.15am Sold out
Fri 19 Jul 10.00am Book now
Fri 19 Jul 11.15am Book now
Fri 19 Jul 1.00pm Book now
Fri 19 Jul 2.15pm Book now
Sat 20 Jul 10.00am Sold out
Sat 20 Jul 11.15am Sold out
Sat 20 Jul 1.00pm Sold out
Sat 20 Jul 2.15pm Sold out
Fri 26 Jul 10.00am Book now
Fri 26 Jul 11.15am Book now
Fri 26 Jul 1.00pm Book now
Fri 26 Jul 2.15pm Book now
Sat 27 Jul 10.00am Sold out
Sat 27 Jul 11.15am Sold out
Sat 27 Jul 1.00pm Sold out
Sat 27 Jul 2.15pm Sold out
Mon 29 Jul 10.00am Sold out
Mon 29 Jul 11.15am Sold out
Tue 30 Jul 10.00am Sold out
Tue 30 Jul 11.15am Sold out
Wed 31 Jul 10.00am Book now
Wed 31 Jul 11.15am Book now
Thu 1 Aug 10.00am Book now
Thu 1 Aug 11.15am Book now
Fri 2 Aug 10.00am Book now
Fri 2 Aug 11.15am Book now
Fri 2 Aug 1.00pm Book now
Fri 2 Aug 2.15pm Book now
Sat 3 Aug 10.00am Book now
Sat 3 Aug 11.15am Sold out
Sat 3 Aug 1.00pm Sold out
Sat 3 Aug 2.15pm Sold out
Mon 5 Aug 10.00am Book now
Mon 5 Aug 11.15am Book now
Tue 6 Aug 11.15am Book now
Wed 7 Aug 10.00am Book now
Wed 7 Aug 11.15am Book now
Thu 8 Aug 10.00am Book now
Thu 8 Aug 11.15am Book now
Fri 9 Aug 10.00am Book now
Fri 9 Aug 11.15am Book now
Fri 9 Aug 1.00pm Book now
Sat 10 Aug 10.00am Sold out
Sat 10 Aug 11.15am Book now
Sat 10 Aug 1.00pm Book now
Sat 10 Aug 2.15pm Book now
Mon 12 Aug 10.00am Book now
Mon 12 Aug 11.15am Book now
Tue 13 Aug 10.00am Book now
Tue 13 Aug 11.15am Book now
Wed 14 Aug 10.00am Book now
Wed 14 Aug 11.15am Book now
Thu 15 Aug 10.00am Book now
Thu 15 Aug 11.15am Book now
Fri 16 Aug 10.00am Book now
Fri 16 Aug 11.15am Book now
Fri 16 Aug 1.00pm Book now
Fri 16 Aug 2.15pm Book now
Sat 17 Aug 10.00am Book now
Sat 17 Aug 11.15am Book now
Sat 17 Aug 1.00pm Book now
Sat 17 Aug 2.15pm Book now
Mon 19 Aug 10.00am Book now
Mon 19 Aug 11.15am Book now
Tue 20 Aug 11.15am Book now
Wed 21 Aug 10.00am Book now
Wed 21 Aug 11.15am Book now
Thu 22 Aug 10.00am Book now
Thu 22 Aug 11.15am Book now
Fri 23 Aug 10.00am Book now
Fri 23 Aug 11.15am Book now
Fri 23 Aug 1.00pm Book now
Fri 23 Aug 2.15pm Book now
Sat 24 Aug 10.00am Book now
Sat 24 Aug 11.15am Book now
Sat 24 Aug 1.00pm Book now
Sat 24 Aug 2.15pm Book now
Mon 26 Aug 10.00am Book now
Mon 26 Aug 11.15am Book now
Tue 27 Aug 10.00am Book now
Tue 27 Aug 11.15am Book now
Wed 28 Aug 10.00am Book now
Wed 28 Aug 11.15am Book now
Thu 29 Aug 10.00am Book now
Thu 29 Aug 11.15am Book now
Fri 30 Aug 10.00am Book now
Fri 30 Aug 11.15am Book now
Fri 30 Aug 1.00pm Book now
Fri 30 Aug 2.15pm Book now
Sat 31 Aug 10.00am Book now
Sat 31 Aug 11.15am Book now
Sat 31 Aug 1.00pm Book now
Sat 31 Aug 2.15pm Book now
Fri 6 Sep 10.00am Book now
Fri 6 Sep 11.15am Book now
Sat 7 Sep 10.00am Book now
Sat 7 Sep 11.15am Book now
Sat 7 Sep 1.00pm Book now
Sat 7 Sep 2.15pm Book now
Sat 14 Sep 10.00am Book now
Sat 14 Sep 11.15am Book now
Sat 14 Sep 1.00pm Book now
Sat 14 Sep 2.15pm Book now
Sat 21 Sep 10.00am Book now
Sat 21 Sep 11.15am Book now
Sat 21 Sep 1.00pm Book now
Sat 21 Sep 2.15pm Book now
Fri 27 Sep 10.00am Book now
Fri 27 Sep 11.15am Book now
Sat 28 Sep 10.00am Book now
Sat 28 Sep 11.15am Book now
Sat 28 Sep 1.00pm Book now
Sat 28 Sep 2.15pm Book now
Sat 5 Oct 10.00am Book now
Sat 5 Oct 11.15am Book now
Sat 5 Oct 1.00pm Book now
Sat 5 Oct 2.15pm Book now
Sat 12 Oct 10.00am Book now
Sat 12 Oct 11.15am Book now
Sat 12 Oct 1.00pm Book now
Sat 12 Oct 2.15pm Book now
Sat 19 Oct 10.00am Book now
Sat 19 Oct 11.15am Book now
Sat 19 Oct 1.00pm Book now
Sat 19 Oct 2.15pm Book now
Mon 21 Oct 10.00am Book now
Mon 21 Oct 11.15am Book now
Mon 21 Oct 1.00pm Book now
Mon 21 Oct 2.15pm Book now
Tue 22 Oct 10.00am Book now
Tue 22 Oct 11.15am Book now
Tue 22 Oct 1.00pm Book now
Tue 22 Oct 2.15pm Book now
Wed 23 Oct 10.00am Book now
Wed 23 Oct 11.15am Book now
Wed 23 Oct 1.00pm Book now
Wed 23 Oct 2.15pm Book now
Thu 24 Oct 10.00am Book now
Thu 24 Oct 11.15am Book now
Thu 24 Oct 1.00pm Book now
Thu 24 Oct 2.15pm Book now
Fri 25 Oct 10.00am Book now
Fri 25 Oct 11.15am Book now
Fri 25 Oct 1.00pm Book now
Fri 25 Oct 2.15pm Book now
Sat 26 Oct 10.00am Book now
Sat 26 Oct 11.15am Book now
Sat 26 Oct 1.00pm Book now
Sat 26 Oct 2.15pm Book now
Load more times +

Those in grey are currently sold out. Call Box Office for more options and information.

Getting there

Z-arts, 335 Stretford Road
Hulme
Manchester
M15 5ZA
Greater Manchester

Get directions